Holy Kettle Corn – My New Favorite Snack

I love eating what everybody calls junk food. But this year, I was able to lessen that habit, in short, I consume less of it. I survived I may say, I still crave but I found an alternative snack – POPCORNS! Honestly, I only eat popcorns whenever we go to the movie houses or during Sundays after we hear mass. But recently, I purchase a bag of Holy Kettle Corn packed in a paper bag in its original flavor at Ayala MRT Station – The Sweet and Salty to satisfy my craving at Php35.00 and immediately consume it. The bag was full, and it’s not too sweet nor too salty up to the last bite. It also has that freshness of a freshly baked pop corn and more importantly it shows the phrase “Consume Before” at the lower left back side of the bag. Ingredients are as showed in the packaging – imported corn that comes round when popped, a natural sugar that is sweet, natural salt that is not sweet and oil that does not mix well with water. This is hand popped fresh every day.

Here’s a brief history of my new found favorite snack. Holy Kettle Corn was a concept thought of by Entrepreneurs Derrick Chiongbian and Aris Alipon in May 2004 under the company Blue Kettle Corp. It was built on the premise to offer the market an alternative anytime anywhere healthier snack food that deviates from the instant popcorn available in the supermarkets, popcorn at the cinemas or even those you find outside in most of our churches today. The corns used are imported from Nebraska. They opened their first branch in Alabang Town Center with a humble three (3) square meter cart on July 16, 2004, introducing the sweet-salty kettle corn and the rest was history. Right now they are maintaining 11 branches including its first franchise outlet in Banilad Town Center in Cebu City.

I also bought their flavored variants, the sour cream, smoking barbecue and cheese at Php 40.00 each. Since this was packed in a foil I bag consumed it a few days after I purchased it.

Smoking Barbecue and Cheese
Sour Cream

My mom and I munch on these flavored popcorns and  among the three, sour cream emerged on our taste buds.Its flavor is not too empowering and it’s not salty at all. Since we have consumed it days after some of the pieces are not that fresh anymore. Up to the last bite of it, you can taste some sweet pieces, it’s the same with the smoking barbecue and the cheese. Ingredients show the packaging are corn, sugar, corn oil and developed flavoring. All in all Holy Kettle Corn is a perfect snack for me. Lastly, before I forget, Kettle Corn is different from Holy Kettle Corn don’t be misled.

Holy Kettle Corn is available at all 7-11 nationwide and in the following outlets:
Alabang Town Center, Pasig (UA &P)
StarMall Las Pinas, Harrison Plaza Ground Floor, 
ABS-CBN, Starmall, Market-Market,
Shell Mckinley, Glorietta, Rustan’s Makati,
Shell Magallanes, Rustans Shangrila,
GT Tower Makati, Enterprise Center,
Rustan’s Katipunan, Duty Free Fiesta Mall,
Waltermart Makati, Shopwise Libis,
Greenhills, SM Megamall, LKG Tower,
Petron Makati, Shell SLT1, Shell SLT2,
BF Homes, MRT Ayala Station and SM Southmall
or you can check their official website at
This entry was posted in Chinese Food, Holy Kettle Corn, Popcorn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

